10 Questions With Andy Weir

Welcome to the second edition of 10 Questions With…

This evening our guest is
1243996_462962470469717_888357661_o

Andy Weir

I will be honest with you, I did not think I would get an answer when I sent Andy the email asking if he would participate.  I figured that his calendar was pretty full at the moment, and would be for a while.  But he responded and agreed.  I was so excited.

The Martian is one book that everyone should read.  The writing is great and the story lines grabs you from the beginning.  It is very easy to get lost in the story.  And let’s be honest, Mark Watney’s humor is great.

My Leighgendarium calendar has been filling up pretty fast with interviews, July is completely booked and August is almost booked.  September and October are going to fill up really fast and I knew that I did not want to wait that long to publish this interview.  There is no way I would be able to sit on this interview until September.  So without further ado,

10 Questions With Andy Weir

Andy Weir was first hired as a programmer for a national laboratory at age fifteen and has been working as a software engineer ever since. He is also a lifelong space nerd and a devoted hobbyist of subjects like relativistic physics, orbital mechanics, and the history of manned spaceflight. The Martian is his first novel.

1.)  What is something that many people might not know about you?

I’m an amateur bartender. I like making high-quality cocktails.

2.)  What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I had an idea so I wrote it. (Note: My first book was not the Martian. It was called “The Observer” and it’s utter crap)

3.)  Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Isaac Asimov. I love how he would take simple conceits and explore all their ramifications. I try to emulate that in my writing.

4.)  If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Asimov again. I’d love to just chat with him about his process and ideals.

5.)  What book are you reading now?

Nothing. I’m so busy lately I basically have no time to myself for fun.

6.)  Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

Yes, definitely. Ernest Cline (Author of “Ready Player One”).

7.)  If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

I’d change the sandstorm at the beginning of “The Martian” to an MAV engine test failure. That way it wouldn’t be unrealistic (a Martian sandstorm can’t do the kind of damage depicted in the book)

8.)  Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sorry, I can’t. My next book is already bought by Random House, so I don’t own the rights to the content. They don’t want people to see it until it’s released.

9.)  If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

None of them. We’re all one country.

10.)  A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

“One Margarita please. Extra ice.”

I would like to thank Andy Weir for taking a few minutes out of his busy schedule to do these questions for this new blog.  If you do not have a copy of The Martian then click here or run to your library and get it.  You will not be disappointed.  And remember the movie comes out on October 2, 2015.

Book Summary

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

6 thoughts on “10 Questions With Andy Weir

Leave a Comment

