Review: Ready Player One

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines—puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.
But when Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

I have seen people online tell others to stop what they are doing and read Ready Player One. I never understood why. But now after reading it, I do. This book ,simply put, is amazing. I am not even sure if I can put all my thoughts down for you, but I will try.

On the cover of the book it says “Enchanting…Willy Wonka meets The Matrix.” -USA Today. I only agree with part of that, Enchanting.

The Sacramento News & Review said, “If you  identify yourself as a nerd, geek, gamer, 1980s history buff, a fan of science, fantasy, or dystopian fiction, otaku,  1980s movie fan, romantic, someone who grew up in the 1980s, or human with the emotions – you will enjoy Ready Player One. If you identify with two or more of the above, it’s a guaranteed new favorite novel.”  I completely agree with this review.

I also agree with NPR when they said, “The energetic, deeply felt narrative makes it almost impossible to stop turning the pages.”

As I said earlier, the USA Today compared it to “Willy Wonka meets The Matrix.” I think the way it should be described is like this, Ready Player One is the new The Da Vinci Code. When I first got into reading, The Da Vinci Code was one of my favorite books, I loved the mystery and trying to figure out the clues.  Ready Player One is the same way, just with 1980s video games, movies, and songs.

You do not need to be a person who grew up in the 1980s or someone that knows a lot about it in order to enjoy this book.  I was born in the early 1980s and I do not know many of the references but I enjoyed the book…a lot.

If you love trying to figure out puzzles or love the 1980s, then this book is for you.  I believe everyone will enjoy this book.  I also believe if you know someone who is not much of a reader, this book is for them.  I could not wait to find time to read it.  I put down video games and television to read it.  This book is probably one of the best books I have ever read.

Rating: 10/10 stars, only because I cannot go higher.

Below is the link to the Kindle version of the book.  It is currently $3.99 (which is a steal).  You can also add the Audible version for $7, which is read by Will Wheaton.

Get Ready Player One here

3 thoughts on “Review: Ready Player One

Leave a Comment

