10 Questions With Angela Cavanaugh

Welcome to the fourth edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

Angela Cavanaugh

Angela is a writer living in Los Angeles. She is a two time recipient of an Honorable Mention in the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest. Her debut novel, Otherworlders, has been well received. She is a contributor to The Future Chronicles. She also publishes flash fiction regularly on her website. She has many upcoming projects, and is excited for the future.

Now for the moment you have been waiting for:

10 Questions With Angela Cavanaugh

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

I’m terribly, terribly shy. I have a difficult time initiating conversations, and I agonize over how I respond to people on the internet. It’s tough. Once I get to know people, I’m far more relaxed, and some even say that I’m funny.

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve been writing stories all of my life. I wrote my first full length book in high school. Looking back, it was a huge rip off of John Saul’s Darkness. Thankfully, it was accidentally deleted when my parent’s formatted their computer.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

From the time I was 12 until I was about 24, I really only read Dean Koontz. For some reason, I was scared to read any other author. I was convinced that I wouldn’t like anyone else’s writing. The problem was, I was bored with his. I didn’t read anything for probably 3 years, and I had sparsely read before. But then my boyfriend bought me a book, and I felt that the gesture was nice enough that I should read it. Turned out I’m bad at reading. So, I got the audiobook. Changed my life. It wasn’t that book, specifically, but it was discovering that other books could be good, and that there was a way of reading that worked for me. Since then, I’ve read probably 45 novels and a mess of short stories, plus a couple non-fiction books. I’ve discovered that I really like newly released sci-fi. There are so many great new authors that it’d be impossible to choose who’s best: Hugh Howey, Matthew Mather, Ramez Naam, Daniel Suarez, Scott Meyer, John Scazli, Andy Weir, Ernest Cline… the list goes on. What I love best about them is the style. They’ve all got this relaxed, conversational way about their books that really resonates with me.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

I recently had doughnuts with Hugh Howey, does that count? It was pretty great. I loved hearing about his process and the underlying things that go into his writing.

5.) What book are you reading now?

I just finished reading Armada by Ernest Cline and I am going to read Apex by Ramez Naam next.

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

See #3. I love discovering new authors.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

No. There is a lot of work, many drafts, and input from readers and editors that go into my books before I publish them. My hope is that they are right by the time I press publish.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Be kind, remember it’s a work in progress:

I climbed the outside stairwell up seven stories to my floor. There were fourteen other apartments on my floor, and another six stories above me. Each contained just as many residences.

I reached the poorly ventilated hallway of my floor and was struck with an overwhelming stink, like three day old garbage. I tried to pull the collar of my jumpsuit over my nose. I only succeeded in giving myself a wedgie and releasing a burst of the body-odor laden air that had been trapped in my suit. It became undeniable that the stench was, at least in part, me. I grimaced as it wafted at me, and released the cloth.

My work suit had some sort of sealant over it and wasn’t very breathable. I suppose it was for my safety. Unfortunately, it also trapped in the heat. That, coupled with a sixteen hour work day, made for a less than fresh body.

As I walked through down the hallway, the walls struggled to light up. They were lined with thin strips of motion sensor oLED paper. The light moved with me, conserving precious energy.

I reached my door and placed my palm flat on its surface. It buzzed and refused entry. I looked at my hand. It was caked with a mix of sweat and salt. I looked for a clean-ish spot on my jumpsuit, wiped my hand, and tried again. This time the door opened.

The majority of the apartment was just one large room. The kitchen sat galley to one side. Just past it there was the bathroom, which was really just a glorified hole that ran down all the way to the sewer. We had to keep the lid closed as tight as we could at all times. Luckily, the latch hadn’t broken, despite decades of repeated use. It helped keep the stink away, and hey, it was better than a bucket.

The only light in the apartment was originating from the Vision that ran the length of the apartment. If not for the crack in the wall that ran down from the ceiling, and the sections of burnt out pixels, this sort of system could give the experience of three-dimensional entertainment. But it would never be fixed. Sure, oLED paper was dirt cheap, but it was still a luxury for us.

My son, Ryder, was curled up in a ball on the couch, but still took up the length of it. He had wrapped himself tightly in an old blanket.

“Hey, kiddo,” I said.

Ryder didn’t stir.

I froze for a moment, fearing that today was the day I come home to find him dead.

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

I don’t really have a beef with any states. I guess if I had to pick one, I’d say Missouri. That way all of my friends and family would have to move closer to me.

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

11725301_10153491643117354_1986468122_o

I couldn’t think of anything good for this, so I just drew a picture. Sometimes, when I get stuck in one artistic medium, it helps me to work in another.

Go ahead, pimp whatever book you want:

From July 21st-27th, my novel Otherworlders will be on sale for .99

I have short stories in The A.I. Chronicles and in The Z Chronicles

Follow my blog and if you sign up for my newsletter, you’ll get a free story.

*****

GIVEAWAY:  Angela Cavanaugh is giving away a digital copy of her book Otherworlders: A Novel.  All you need to do is answer the following question in the comments below:
What do you think the you in a parallel universe would be like?  Would they be more dangerous?  Would they have a different job?  What do you think?
I will take answers until Sunday, 7/26/15 at 8:00 pm (EST) and I will announce the winners shortly after.  I will announce the winners here and also on The Leighgendarium Facebook Page.

I would like to thank Angela Cavanaugh for taking the time to do 10 Questions With…

Be sure to get Otherworlders for $.99 starting Tuesday, July 21st and also check out The A.I. Chronicles and The Z Chronicles, they are amazing anthologies.

Otherworlders

The A.I. Chronicles

The Z Chronicles

If you liked this interview and you would like to be notified of when new ones are posted please subscribe to my newsletter or click Follow Leighgendarium at the top of this page.

10 thoughts on “10 Questions With Angela Cavanaugh

  1. I think I would be a perfectly normal individual who has no time for social media, has an awesome career and a handsome hubby to make me happy. One can dream right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wouldn’t be more dangerous, because my husband’s personality in this reality has rubbed, making me very dangerous here 🙂 I’d be middle mannered, and easy going, and not so prickly. I’d be happier in different ways, but missing something without knowing why. I’d have more money 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have gone to Random.org and it chose the #1. So the winner is reesekgreese2010. reesekgreese2010 send me an email to cdguylhs {at} hotmail {dot} com. Or if you follow the blog on Facebook you can message me there as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

