10 Questions With Jason Anspach

Welcome Leighgendaries to the seventh edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

profile_0315

Jason Anspach

Jason Anspach lives in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and their six children. His debut novel, ’til Death, will be released on Tuesday, July 28, 2015. Jason is the Executive Producer and a cast member on the Sci-Fi Writers Playing Old School D&D Podcast.

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Jason Anspach

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

I was a theater major in college, but changed to public relations in order to better my chances of getting my girlfriend’s parent’s blessing to propose marriage. It worked.

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve wanted to write books since I was a kid. I predicted in my 5th grade year book that I’d be an author and a baseball player. Only half of those things turned out, but a .500 average is pretty solid.

The catalyst to getting my first book done was Michael Bunker and his book, Pennsylvania.

My first kindle was a 2nd generation, and I tried some Indie books that were just… terrible. Plots holes, poor grammar and punctuation, inconsistent spelling… I figured it was impossible to put a book together without a legacy publisher, and I didn’t feel like going through the submission/rejection cycle I saw my wife endure during college.

Fast forward to last summer, I had just finished visiting family while on vacation near Lebanon, PA and Bunker’s book popped out. I read it, loved it, and found out that it was independent. That intrigued me because it was so unlike what I’d read years before. I researched self publishing for months. I read Bunker, Hugh Howey and Joe Konrath’s blogs along with more Indie books and realized that this was something I could do.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

That’s like asking me to pick my favorite child!

Each of my favorite authors has impacted me in different ways. Let’s take Harper Lee. The way she was able to capture childhood and adult life, love and hate, justice and injustice is profound.

Reading To Kill a Mockingbird as a child helped me to realize what life as an adult would be like and reading it as an adult helps me remember what being a child was like.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

As cool as it would be to serve tacos to Charles Dickens, Edgar Allen Poe, or Jane Austen, I have to play the long game and go with someone living like Nick Cole.

Dickens & Austen would politely compliment the food while fighting against raging heartburn and then disappear into the ether. Great story, but I’d rather have dinner with a friend and build relationships.

5.) What book are you reading now?

I can’t read just one at a time:

I just finished Armada by Ernest Cline.

I am currently reading:
Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
Practical Religion by J.C. Ryle
The Martian by Andy Weir
1811 Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue by Francis Grose

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

Hmm… like brand new, or just new to me?

I liked Christopher Boore’s story in the Z Chronicles.

I’m really enjoying Kevin G. Summers & E.E. Giorgi’s works after being introduced to them through Apocalypse Weird. They’re probably just in the “new to me” category, though.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

I wrote a book in the first grade called The California Raisins Save Christmas and didn’t utilize Stretch, the bass player, nearly enough.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m writing a fantasy story detailing the origin of Barabosa, the barbarian character I play on Sci-Fi Writers Playing Old School D&D.

It will be part of an anthology of short stories coming from that group… unless I get carried away and turn it into a stand-alone novel.

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

I think it’s time North & South Dakota settle their ancient blood-feud and become a unified state.

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

“Hello. My name is Pinigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

Go ahead, pimp whatever book you want:

Check out my latest book, ’til Death here:

til-death-cover-600x914

Summary:

Sam Rockwell is a fledgling private investigator specializing in Returns, or, recently deceased ghosts with unfinished business. After his no-nonsense father is murdered and comes back, Sam takes the case hoping for a big break and a chance to win the heart of his Girl Friday.

Short on experience and long on the swagger of the dog-eared pulp fiction he keeps in his desk, Rockwell sets out to find his father’s killer only to find himself caught up in a deadly game of Cold War Intrigue at its most horrific as the Doomsday Clock inches closer to permanent midnight in this witty throwback to the Golden Age of Hollywood noire.

Praise for ’til Death:

“Sweet, melancholy and hilariously witty, Anspach captures America Lost with a refreshing deftness that’ll send you scrambling for your old Raymond Chandler paperbacks once you’re done and eagerly waiting for his next novel.” – Nick Cole, Author of Soda Pop Soldier & The Wasteland Saga.

*****

I would like to thank Jason Anspach for joining us today.  Don’t forget to go check out his new book ’til Death.  It will be available Tuesday, July 28, 2015 for $.99.  Better yet, just go preorder it.  I am currently reading it and enjoying it.  I hope to have a review up soon.

One thought on “10 Questions With Jason Anspach

Leave a Comment

