10 Questions With Thomas Robins

Welcome Leighgendaries to the ninth edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

61rlT7c956L._UX250_

Thomas Robins

Thomas is the author of the highly-rated novel Desperate to Escape, several works appearing in Kindle Worlds, and a smattering of short stories appearing in anthologies. Thomas lives in the Kansas City area with his family, cats, and an unremarkable collection of science fiction memorabilia.

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Thomas Robins

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

When people ask me this question in the real world, I tell them I am an author. Being an author is fun, but it is something I stumbled into unexpectedly. That is, writing is something I do for the passion of it, not for a full time income. Since you are asking me this question as an author, I get to tell you something about by real world self: I have worked in the field of mental health for almost 15 years. It is as tough as it is rewarding and turns out to be a perfect fit for my personality.

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

I read a lot of science fiction and I decided to catch up on the Star Wars expanded universe books a few years back. I read many, many of them on my Kindle. Every time I went to the Kindle store to buy the next book, Amazon would recommend a book with an odd name and cover: WOOL by Hugh Howey. After more time than I’d like to admit, I finally read WOOL and was totally hooked. I couldn’t wait for each part of the story to be released and I became wrapped up in the discussion about what might happen next. Then, Hugh Howey started encouraging readers to write in the WOOL world (and even publish those stories for money). I felt writing in the world of WOOL had become part of the experience the author wanted his fans to have, so I wrote. I contacted Hugh Howey directly and he assured me I could sell my work. Keep in mind, this was before Kindle Worlds made it all official. After trying my hand in his world, I decided to write a novel of my own. Desperate to Escape was my first novel and it was a labor of love. I released it in parts as I wrote it and each part was highly rated. The novel is now available as a complete edition and Ineeka continues to be one of my favorite characters.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

It’s hard to pinpoint a favorite, but one that impresses me is Orson Scott Card.

When I read Ender’s Game, I could picture his complicated settings very clearly, but I had no idea how I to describe them in my own words. Anyone who can make me understand something so complicated that I don’t know how to explain to someone else has my admiration.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Isaac Asimov. I read many of his books when I first discovered the science fiction section of the small library in my hometown. I would like to know what he thinks about the world as it is now, and where it is heading.

5.) What book are you reading now?

Armada by Ernest Cline. I’m alternating reading chapters and answering these questions.

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

These independent authors have my interest to such an extent they are in my author support group: WJ Davies, Dave Adams, Logan Snyder, Ann Christy, Will Swardstrom, and Angie Cavanaugh.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

Of course, but those are fleeting thoughts and totally normal. What really eats at me is when I’m writing a series and I wish I’d done something different in a part of the story I’ve already published because it would make the next installment better.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Indeed. I recently released The Dragonslayer’s Daughter. This story takes a briefly mentioned character from one of my previous works, Where Dragons Lie, and gives her a full journey of her own. Athelina is a girl trying to leave her controlling father (you know how those dragonslayers can be). People loved the first story, but those who have read this one seem to like it even more. This was a fun character to write and I am told it is hard to put this story down once you start reading it.

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

Missouri. I’ve lived here most of my life and if a state up and disappears, I want to be there to find out what happened to it. It would be like living on the LOST island. Besides, I’m pretty sure the only thing keeping Missouri from flying away is that it’s stapled down (the St. Louis Arch–totally a huge staple).

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

I’m surveying my surroundings here: I am in Starbucks, which is across the street from Jose Pepper’s restaurant, and it’s a hundred degrees outside. I can only assume the penguin just got off his shift as a mexican penguin prop at Jose Pepper’s and wants to order a fish-flavored Frappuccino (it’s on the secret menu).

Go ahead, pimp whatever book you want:

I want more people to read Desperate to Escape. Ineeka Coleman, the protagonist, was such a delight to write. It is based in a science fiction world, but the story is not about the science, it’s about Ineeka’s life struggles. I truly felt joy and pain along with her as I wrote the story. I hope more people get to enjoy this book and it’s why I’ve kept the price low for so long. Desperate to Escape is the one I want to share with the world.

*****

GIVEAWAY:  Thomas Robins is going to give away a signed copy of The Dragonslayer’s Daughter (Dragons of Edgewick Book 2).  All you have to do is answer the following question in the comments below:
What is your favorite dragon and why?  It can be in a movie, book, or television show.
Due to the fact this is a signed copy, this giveaway is only open to residents of the United States.  I will keep this giveaway open until Thursday, July 30, 2015, at 8:00 pm (est).

*****

I would like to thank Thomas Robins for taking part in the 10 Questions With… series.  To learn more about Thomas Robins make sure to visit his website and don’t forget to join his mailing list to stay up to date with his latest news.

Thomas also has a lot going on this month:

Desperate To Escape, Part 1 is going to part of the free Kindle Promotion Days Wednesday – Saturday (7/29 – 8/1)

41EySsL2hAL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

Everyone feels the need to get away, but some reasons are better than others.

Desperate to Escape is the parallel story of Ineeka’s struggle as a child growing up in a neglectful home, and as an adult piloting a shuttle toward the New International Space Station.

The Dragonslayer’s Daughter (Dragons of Edgewick Book 2) was released earlier this month

51aAe31LVtL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

My name is Athelina.

I learned everything I know from my father.

My father is a powerful man.

My father is a cruel man.

My father is a dragonslayer.

This is my story.

Thomas is also featured in Alt.History 101 (Alt.Chronicles) that releases Friday, July 31

512O96rEabL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_In Alt.History 101, thirteen top speculative fiction authors re-imagine the world – as one where the inventor of the smallpox vaccine died before he’d created it, as one where the women’s suffragist movement failed to win the right to vote, as one where the death penalty exists but where all forms of capital punishment are ruled inhumane – and ten other compelling stories charting the histories of these worlds.

Enter worlds so much like our own, yet so different – where everything you know… is history.

10 thoughts on “10 Questions With Thomas Robins

  1. First of all, love Orson Scott Card. It’s hard to make me cry reading a book and Speaker for the Dead had me bawling.

    My favorite dragon? Lorhumat. He is only slightly larger than a human, furred, and the wisest of all the dragons on Majarcania. His siblings are all unbelievably large. Yerthian is roughly 7km long, head to tail, and known to take out whole cities. Irridescian leads the dragons, but is always talking with his little brother. Lorhumat works closely with the mortal races to thwart the plans of evils like the Revenaunt Council and Vale of Man. Usually he is teaching farmers, craftsmen, or mages. He is more of a scholar than a fighter, but…well, he IS still a dragon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

