10 Questions With Allyssa Painter

Welcome Leighgendaries to the tenth edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

11780609_1898955520329667_1107492628_n

Allyssa Painter

Allyssa is 20 years old and is attending college to earn her degree in elementary and special education. All her writing is done in her free time between class, homework, and work. Allyssa is married to the love of her life, her high school sweetheart. She enjoys baking and photography when she is not reading or writing, but her favorite thing to do is spend time with friends and family.

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Allyssa Painter

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

Oh, I don’t know. I’m a pretty open book. How about that I think being fluent in a foreign language is one of the most interesting qualities a person can have?

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

I’m not really sure. I’ve been writing for years. My first completed novel is not the one I’m publishing. I started writing it because of an image of a character I had in mind. My first published book I began writing because of a conversation in my high school sociology class. It just got me thinking, so I started writing it.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Just one? That’s not possible. Top 5 (in no order): Kiera Cass, Maggie Stiefvater, Jennifer Anne Davis, Nicholas Sparks, Dr. Seuss. I think, for all of them, I just love how they make me feel and how they make the stories come to life. Their tales engross and excite me. They’re real.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

That’s a tough question. Probably Jennifer Anne Davis, because not only is she amazing and one of my favorite authors, she’s also one of my closest friends and it’d be nice to actually be able to have a dinner with her. Also, dinner with Maggie Stiefvater and Kiera Cass together would be amazing, because they’re both hilarious.

5.) What book are you reading now?

Well, I just finished reading Earth Bound by Christine Feehan and haven’t started another yet. I have so many I want to read, I’m having trouble deciding!

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

New to everyone or new to me? I’ve discovered some pretty exciting and interesting YA dystopian authors, but I haven’t gotten to read any of their books yet. I’m also looking forward to reading books by Elisabeth Wheatley. I had the privilege of reading one of hers early and I loved it, so now I need to read the rest.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

I’m sure I would, but I don’t know of anything specific at this moment I would change. It’s so new I’ve just managed to make all the changes I currently want to make. But I’m sure I’ll think of something soon.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Well, my first book,Timekeeper Rising, releases August 1 and I’ve just finished editing it’s sequel, Timekeeper Falling. I’m still working on it, waiting on beta readers, and then it’ll be finished and waiting for publication too. I’m currently writing a new series, but I don’t really know enough about it to share. It’s going to include people who bond with each other and receive magic powers when they do, so that’s cool, right? That’s really all I’ve figured out.

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

This is going to sound horrible, and if you live here, please forgive me, but I would definitely get rid of Kansas. I hate Kansas. I’m so sorry if you live there, but it’s just so boring and bland. I live in West Virginia, which is a wonderful, beautiful state filled with trees, flowers, animals, hills, mountains, and more. And then there’s Kansas. My family and I drove through it on our way to Colorado and it was horrible. I swear, the entire time we were there, we saw no scenery, nothing but dirt and the road for miles in every direction. It was awful. Sorry Kansasites.

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

He’s my pet. He doesn’t say anything. He’s a penguin.

*****

I would like thank Allyssa Painter for joining us for this edition of 10 Questions With…  I hope you enjoyed the interview as much as I did.

Her first book, Timekeeper Rising (The Timekeeper Duo Book 1), release August 1, 2015 and you can pre-order it for $2.99 on Amazon for your Kindle or Kindle App.

To stay up to date with Allyssa Painter, visit her Website or her Facebook Page.  If you have any questions or comments for Allyssa or The Leighgendarium please leave them below.  Have a great weekend.

Fifty years ago, the sky cried acid and the earth vomited poison, all due to human destruction. Desperate for a savior, the people called out to the Shunned, a group of Fallen angels on Earth, and allowed them to take over. Now the Shunned rule with unspeakable cruelty, manipulating and torturing the humans in every possible way. Marked for death, Iris Ankea will do anything to end their tyranny and rescue her brother and best friend from their clutches. When she learns that she is God’s chosen Timekeeper and has the power to defeat the Shunned, she sets out with the only man who can help her, the one she thinks just might kill her. With a prophecy about her drawing ever near, Iris must race against time to discover her powers before the world, and her life, end. Can Iris force herself to embrace her role and sacrifice herself to save everyone she loves, or will she lose it all?

One thought on “10 Questions With Allyssa Painter

Leave a Comment

