10 Questions With Brea Behn

Welcome Leighgendaries to the thirteenth edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

Brea Behn (color)

Brea Behn

Brea Behn has three books and one short story published. Two in a dystopian series: Wolves in the Woods and Wolves in the City and a non-fiction self-help one called Death Sucks, Life Doesn’t Have To. Her short story is “Proof Falls Down” in Prep For Doom. She also has an agent, Tina Purcell, who is working on a six-book non-fiction deal and to find a publisher for a middle grade fantasy book Brea wrote. She enjoys public speaking and speaks at churches, high schools, libraries, bookstores, colleges and conferences on everything from publishing to grief and grieving. She has two kids that she home-schools in Wisconsin and has been married for thirteen years. When not reading or writing Brea loves movies, crochet and can fruits and vegetables.

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Brea Behn

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

I have a rare skull deformation called Chiari. My brain does not fit correctly in my skull so it is pushed down into my spinal cord. I had brain surgery in 2009 to make more room for my brain, but surgery is not a cure. At one point I lost my ability to see the TV or computer, had severe memory losses, lost the strength in my hands and my brain was forgetting to breathe to the point of seizures. Chiari is something I will live with for the rest of my life.

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

I started my first book when I was fifteen when my twin brother died from an accident with a handgun. I couldn’t find a book about losing a twin so I decided to start writing one. When I finished it, I wanted to write something more fun, so I wrote a YA dystopian series.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author is Stephen King. I have read his work since I was a teenager. I am drawn to it because it is not sugar coated. It is very real and vivid. The same as Stephen King himself really.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

I’m sure you’re not surprised, but I would pick Stephen King. I would love to see how a normal day is for him, his writing routine and to just hear his thoughts on the writing world as it is today.

5.) What book are you reading now?

I am taking a brief break from my dystopian/post-apoc list with the YA novel, We Were Liars by E. Lockhardt.

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

So many! I love to read and read one or two books a week. I am making my way through the many wonderful authors on Band of Dystopian. Several of which I have absolutely adored and look forward to reading more.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

Yes. Especially my first book. Mostly, I would have been more careful about the editing. However, I didn’t know half the things that I know now and with each book I learn more. So in a way each book is a step up and I hope that my readers can stay with me until I hit one out of the park.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I actually have two books I am working on right now. One is a YA fantasy called Adams & Eves about a young woman who is in search of the Garden of Eden that she has vivid memories of. The other is a YA dystopian about zombies called Vaxxers. Vaxxers is about a seventeen-year-old named Ace. It takes place seventy years after a vaccine for Autism caused children to change into “flesh-fallers” when they reach maturity. Ace is on a journey to find a cure before he changes himself.

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

Wow, that is a tough question. I guess that would depend on what “get rid of” means. If it meant everyone would disappear I would pick the least populated. The less casualties the better, right? :-/

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

He says, “My home melted so I went north to find a new one. I came to Wisconsin expecting weather like home, but it is just as hot here as the last country I went through!”

*****

GIVEAWAY: Brea Behn is going to give away a signed paperback of Wolves in the City.  All you need to do is answer the following question in the comments:
You only have time to grab 3 items before you have to escape from your house.  What 3 items do you grab?
Since this contest involves shipping a signed book, it is only open to those that live in the United States.   The giveaway will close on Sunday night, August 9, 2015, at 8:00 pm (est).

I would like to thank Brea Behn for joining us for this episode of 10 Questions With…  I really enjoyed this interview and I hope you did to.

You can find Brea Behn on Facebook, Twitter, and her Website.  You can also learn more about her books on Goodreads and you may purchase them on Amazon.

Don’t forget to check out her series which includes Wolves In The Woods and Wolves In The City.

Meet Braelin, a young woman in the year 2056, whose life is soon to be changed forever by a virus known as C47-a virus that wipes out much of the world, including her parents and her twin.

Now alone, Braelin is forced to learn to take care of herself. By fate and good luck she stumbles across a sanctuary hidden deep in the woods of Wisconsin. Here she learns the hardest lessons of survival yet. Along the way she meets Aravon and Timber, both of whom fall hard for Braelin. Filled with suspense, passion and excitement, Wolves in the Woods keeps Braelin fighting for her life and for her love until the very end.

Braelin is back in the second book of the Wolves series. Braelin finds herself in the broken mega-city of Chiwaukee looking for something she has lost. Here she will find out how those in the city survived the virus C47 and the fallout years later. What else will she find in the city? Will she find what she is looking for? More importantly, what will find her?

28 thoughts on “10 Questions With Brea Behn

  1. First off I would like to say that it is very interesting to learn that you suffer from Chiari as well Brea. I learned that I suffered from it after having a seizure my freshmen year of high school although in my case neurologist say the two are completely unrelated. It is just interesting to learn something so personal about an author.

    Now on to answering the question for the giveaway:
    The three items I would grab from my house before escaping would be my purse because it tends to have the most important things I need when leaving the house, my anti-seizure medication because it is something that I have to take every single day (hopefully depending on what is the cause for escape I can get more) and lastly my cat, this last one may seem weird by my cat is a non-certified therapy animal and helps not only somewhat make myself and other aware of when I am suffering seizure like symptoms she also helps keep me calm when I start having an anxiety attack to she is important and very useful to me.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this interview 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome questions and answers!
    The 3 items I would take would be
    1.my photo album of our family
    2. My Sig Sauer 9mm
    3. One of our Survival packs (has food, essentials we need, meds, everything you need in an apocalypse)!
    Our pets would come hands down bc they would follow us LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent questionnaire!
    Assuming my husband and our clan of kids get out fine, the other three items I’d grab would be:
    1. Prepacked bag of toiletries
    2. Sneakers for the family.
    3. Keys to my SUV.

    Like

  4. In response to the giveaway:

    I would grab my duffel bag with a change of clothes already inside, my flash drive with all my written fiction material, and the keys to my car.

    Like

  5. In response to the question for the giveaway:

    1. A duffel bag with supplies for the road, including a spare key for my car and an updated flash drive with all my fiction material.

    2. My dog Bandit.

    3. My phone.

    Like

Leave a Comment

