10 Questions With Rebecca Diem

Welcome Leighgendaries to the seventeenth edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

91bOnfjclpL._UX250_

Rebecca Diem

Rebecca Diem is the author of the steampunk adventure series Tales of the Captain Duke.

She grew up in a far-off land known as Chatsworth, ON. It was surrounded by hills and forests and streams and strange metal beasts that tore through the landscape leaving iron in their wake.

Then one day she started to write it all down…

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Rebecca Diem

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

I’m a pretty open book (ha ha!), but I learned how to publish and put my work out into the world by watching my indie musician friends. While I was writing my first book, I was also living back in my hometown organizing community music festivals. My friend’s band even lent me their button maker to make some swag for my second book launch tour!

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always been a writer. Little snippets of story would pop up unbidden and haunt me until I wrote them down. I have a notebook filled with plots, characters, and ideas from my university days, but it wasn’t until a few years ago that I started taking my writing more seriously. For me, a book usually starts with a scene or image so compelling that I need to know the rest of their story. For The Stowaway Debutante, the first in the Tales of the Captain Duke, there was a girl, staring out the window of an airship, in a cargo hold filled with gunpowder. And I needed to know her story.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I can only pick one? That’s cruel. But definitely Neil Gaiman. There’s something about his work that I find so compelling. The way he sees other worlds in our own, through a crack in the sidewalk, a puddle, a dream…

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Margaret Atwood. She’s terrifying and brilliant, and her work is transformative. Plus, I met her once and got an eyebrow raise for one of my story ideas. And with that twinkle in her eye, you just know she’d be the life of the party.

5.) What book are you reading now?

I just finished Old Man’s War by John Scalzi. Currently reading Petty by Isaac Jourden (an indie author I met at a lit fest in Ottawa), and Uprooted by Naomi Novik (of the Temeraire series).

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

New to me or to the world? I just finished reading Gail Carriger’s Soulless series this spring and loved it. As for new releases, I’d recommend Sam Maggs’ A Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy to nerdkind everywhere, and Monica Heisey’s I Can’t Believe It’s Not Better for anyone who wants to experience laughing so hard their coffee goes up their nose while riding the subway. It was a mess, but worth it.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

Nothing. Except maybe sketching out a crew list so I can remember how many pilots are on the airship and what they all do.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Well, I’m in the midst of writing Tales of the Captain Duke #3: A Gentleman and a Scholar. I can tell you about a new character I’m really excited to introduce to everyone. Professor Sewell is the leading expert in biomechanical engineering at the fictional Lovelace University, known far and wide for her controversial history as a bit of a war profiteer and for her bright, brass, clockwork leg.

After a childhood illness crippled her, Sewell was given every book and tutor by her parents to compensate for the loss of one of her legs. However, she used her education to manipulate her environment, becoming one of Great Britain’s finest inventors and transforming her parent’s home to suit her needs. Sewell is recruited as one of the first students of Lovelace University by Mary Somerville herself, and goes on to become a professor in the field she helped to develop. Let’s just say Sewell and her inventions have a rather critical role to play in Book 3.

I just love the idea of a character whose superpower is her inability to see barriers.

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

Well, I haven’t visited that many. But if you’re getting rid of one, we’ll gladly accept Washington for Canada so we can lay claim to the birthplace of riot grrrl. ❤ Seattle is cool too.

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

How on earth did he get on this train? But makes sense if he came up the continent through Mexico. Likely on his way to visit some polar bear cousins up in Iqaluit.

Go ahead, pimp whatever book you want:

Let’s start at the beginning, shall we? You can listen to me reading the first chapter of Tales of the Captain Duke: The Stowaway Debutante here: https://soundcloud.com/rebeccadiem/stowaway-chp1

*****

I would like to thank Rebecca Diem for joining us today for this edition of 10 Questions With…  I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.  Rebecca is a really good author and I hope you will check her books out.

To learn more about Rebecca Diem you can visit her website.

Don’t forget to follow her on Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads.

*****

Normally we do a giveaway right here, but from August 14-16 Tales of the Captain Duke: The Stowaway Debutante is free on Amazon.  Everyone is a winner for the next three days.  Not only is Tales of the Captain Duke: The Stowaway Debutante a very good Steampunk adventure, it is also a very good story.  I highly recommend it to everyone.

Airships, pirates, and hidden identities…

When Clara dreamed of running away to seek her own adventures, she never imagined that a chance encounter with the legendary Captain Duke might set her life on an entirely different course.

Armed with her wit and charm, Clara can usually talk her way out of any troubles. But first, she has to get back to solid ground…

What is your favorite Steampunk book or author?

If you enjoyed this you might also enjoy:
10 Questions With Hank Garner
10 Questions With Michael David Anderson
10 Questions With Hugh Howey
10 Questions With Brea Behn

One thought on “10 Questions With Rebecca Diem

Leave a Comment

