Review: Yankari: A Talking Earth Tale

51+6ZbFV63L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

They come, and she watches. They hunt, and she warns.

Nigeria’s Yankari National Park is a place of nature’s wonder. Tourists come and go, leaving with life-changing experiences and memories they will cherish for the rest of their days.

There are others, though. They come to take more than a head filled with memories. They come to take lives and—even worse—trophies.

Olisa doesn’t mind the temporary trespass of the tourists. They’re more or less harmless. The poachers are a different story. Even nature has its breaking point. And so does Olisa, who is more than an eight year old girl. She is Yankari’s voice and its weapon. When the two finally meet face to face, it’s not just her survival Olisa finds herself fighting for, but the survival of all who call Yankari home.

Ann Christy is a great writer.  I am ashamed to say that this is the first story by her that I have read.  I am completely doing a disservice to myself and my imagination by not having read more by her.

Simply put, Yankari is beautifully written.

Christy really draws you into the story and the time just passes by as you are completely immersed by it.  I could easily picture what was happening in the story.  It was like I was sitting in a theater watching a movie, I just needed some popcorn while I read.  Every paragraph, sentence and word seemed thoughtfully placed.  There was nothing excessive, everything was important to the story.  The story just leaves you breathless.

There is a post dedicated to discussing this story, you can find it here, and I truly had a hard time writing it just as I am with this review.  I know I only needed to put the important parts of the book in the discussion and I had to leave out so many small details and parts that were so great.

No library, physical or ebook, is complete unless you have this book.  I highly recommend it.

Rating:  9.5/10 Stars

You can purchase the ebook on Amazon for $.99 and trust me when I say it is the best $.99 you will spend.

If you liked this review you might also enjoy:

Leighgendary Shorts: Yankari: A Talking Earth Tale by Ann Christy
10 Questions With Rebecca Diem
Leighgendary Shorts: Writer’s Block by Hank Garner
Review: ‘Til Death

3 thoughts on “Review: Yankari: A Talking Earth Tale

Leave a Comment

