Review: Desperate to Escape: The Complete Novel

5126maGf2SL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

As a shuttle pilot for the space program, Ineeka suddenly finds herself on the brink of death. On her most recent trip to the New International Space Station, the crew is out to kill her, and she doesn’t know why. Ineeka must use all her strength gained from a hard childhood to survive an adventure that takes her farther than she could possibly imagine.

I interviewed Thomas Robins for this blog at the end of July 2015.  In the interview Robins said, “I want more people to read Desperate to Escape. Ineeka Coleman, the protagonist, was such a delight to write. It is based in a science fiction world, but the story is not about the science, it’s about Ineeka’s life struggles. I truly felt joy and pain along with her as I wrote the story. I hope more people get to enjoy this book and it’s why I’ve kept the price low for so long. Desperate to Escape is the one I want to share with the world.

I have been buying Robins’ stories now for close to a year but up until reading Desperate to Escape, I had not read any of them.  It is so easy for books to get lost in the shuffle in the Indie Community because there are so many good stories and authors.  After interviewing Robins I felt like I owed it to myself to find out why he felt that way about Desperate to Escape.

With Desperate to Escape, Robins has written a story that is so easy to get lost in.

After reading the summary on the back of the book I had a feeling I knew what I was in for.  Boy was I wrong on that.  Robins completely blew my mind by the end of part 1.  I am not going to give it away but you are in for a complete shocker and a fun ride.

Robins did something unique with each chapter, at least to me it was unique because I can’t think of many books that do this throughout the whole story.  Each chapter is split into two parts.  The first part of the chapter is a flashback on the life of Ineeka and how she got to where she is now.  The second half of the chapter is the the present.  I have not seen this done before and it works really well in this story.  You grow to love the character, you will laugh at times, feel heartbroken, and also shake your head at some of the dumb stuff she does too.

The story has a great pace to it and never seemed to lag any.  The chapters are short and you will find yourself saying you have time to read one more chapter.  This, of course, will lead to some late nights as you need to read one more chapter to find out what happens.  But be warned, almost every chapter leaves you with a cliffhanger.

After reading Desperate to Escape, I understand why Robins wants more people to read it.

Rating:  9/10 Stars

You can get Desperate to Escape for your Kindle or Kindle app for only $2.99.  I highly recommend this book.  You will not be disappointed at all.

If you enjoyed this review you might also like
10 Questions With Thomas Robins
Review: Yankari: A Talking Earth Tale
Review: Ready Player One
Review: The Man Who Shot John Wilkes Booth, Part III

One thought on “Review: Desperate to Escape: The Complete Novel

Leave a Comment

