10 Questions With Ellisa Barr

Welcome Leighgendaries to the twenty second edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

download

Ellisa Barr

Ellisa Barr grew up in a one-stoplight town in Idaho with the best family in the world. The stories in her books are frequently real things that happened to her or one of her siblings, and the feelings of family closeness she writes about are straight from her own experiences.

Barr lives in California with her husband and two kids, along with a cat, a dog and a puppy. She is not a prepper, but she thinks people should do their best to be prepared for natural or personal disaster.

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Ellisa Barr

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

I like to test pearls by scratching my teeth on them to see if they are real. If they are, then they will feel gritty. Fake pearls are slippery. One time I was at a friend’s house and she showed me some real pearls her parents had given her as a gift. I taught her how to test them and… No grit! They were really fake! I felt so bad.

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

A friend and I decided to take the NaNoWriMo challenge, which is to write 50,000 words in the month of November. I made the decision on November 1st and came up with the idea for the book within the first day or two. I finished the challenge, and then added another 5,000 words to the end of the book. I work best under pressure.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’ve had a lot of favorites over the years, but I’ll mention Guy Gavriel Kay, because I’ve liked him since high school, and read all of his books. His writing is lyrical, his scenes are meaningful, and his characters are conflicted and real. I love all of his books. Tigana is a great one to start with.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Laura Ingalls Wilder. She’s one of my heroes! One time someone told me my writing reminded me of hers, and I think it may be my favorite compliment I’ve received as an author.

5.) What book are you reading now?

The last book I read was called Crooked Little Lies, by Barbara Taylor Sissel. I don’t get to read as much post-apocalyptic fiction these days as I’d like, because I don’t want to get other people’s ideas stuck in my head or in my writing.

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

I recently enjoyed Wreckage by Emily Bleeker and I’m looking forward to her next book.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

I still make changes to my books! I fix typos and upload new versions to Amazon every few months. But as far as big changes… probably not. I’ve discovered that you can’t please everyone, and each time I make a change to accommodate one person’s taste, someone else out there doesn’t like it.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I just finished Book 3 of the Powerless Nation series. It was released on 8/20. Here’s a snippet from it:

“The kids were scared now, covering their mouths and coughing in the foul smelling, smoke-filled air. “Follow me!” Dee shouted, and headed for the door. She turned to look, but no one was following. The fireplace was near the exit and no one wanted to go near it. The panicked kids were hiding under tables or throwing books at the glass windows. It was pandemonium.”

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

Maybe Iowa, because when I say I’m from Idaho people often say, “Oh, isn’t that the state with all the corn?” No it’s not! Iowa has corn, Idaho has potatoes. And yes, it does make a difference.

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

He says, “It’s too hot for a penguin to be walking around here.” It’s from Billy Madison. I love movie quotes!

Go ahead, pimp whatever book you want:

If you like a side of hope to go with your apocalypse, check out my Powerless Nation series.

*****

I would like to thank Ellisa for joining us today for 10 Questions With…  I hope you enjoyed getting to know Ellisa Barr a little better.  I know I did.

If you want to learn more about Ellisa Barr or her books you can visit her website.  Don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter while at her website.

You can also follow her on Facebook.

*****

In Ellisa’s Powerless Nation Series, an electromagnetic pulse attack has destroyed the county’s power grid.  What would be the hardest thing for you to get used to?  What would be the hardest thing to have to give up?

*****

I hope everyone will hop on over to Amazon and check out her Powerless Nation Series, this series does not disappoint.  I found myself not wanting to put the book down.

Outage

51YyTAmUg7L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Chaos reigns after an electromagnetic pulse attack destroys the country’s power grid and sends the United States back to the Dark Ages. The hit leaves fifteen-year-old Dee stranded on a farm in rural Washington, where basic survival is the top priority. But without the essentials—electricity, clean water, even her cell phone—does Dee have a chance?

As disease and lawlessness run rampant in the nearby town, everything Dee holds dear is threatened by a corrupt official who steps into power. With handsome, troubled Mason at her side, Dee will have to fight if she wants to survive and save her home in this hostile new world.

Written for all fans of apocalypse stories, Outage is a young adult novel of survival with a hint of romance and brimming with action-adventure.

Voyage

51CrxWiDQNL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Sena Morgan has just begun the voyage of a lifetime—a cruise to Alaska—but she’ll never reach her destination. A mysterious pulse disables all electronics and communications, and starts a fire onboard. Sena is stranded in the cold, northern Pacific along with handsome, bad boy Kade, and fun-loving Danny. One of them hides a secret and the other will betray her.

As food and water dwindle, strangers with a deadly secret are brought aboard the ship. Sena’s only hope of survival is to get as far from them as possible, but at sea there’s nowhere to run. In a brutal, post-apocalyptic world, can Sena and her friends escape before all is lost?

Sabotage

51f7imy0wFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Dee’s parents are home from their ill-fated cruise, but there’s no time to adjust to life “off-grid.” A menacing ex-military leader threatens their small town. After Dee narrowly avoids being conscripted into his youth army, she is forced to watch her friends suffer at his hands. She will risk everything to rescue her loved ones in this taut post-apocalyptic thriller!

If you liked this interview you might also like
10 Questions With Susan Kaye Quinn
10 Questions With Rysa Walker
10 Questions With Angela Cavanaugh
10 Questions With Brea Behn

4 thoughts on “10 Questions With Ellisa Barr

  1. I’m so glad you got the chance to interview Ellisa, she is the reason I found BOD and Outage has stuck with me ever since she put the first 6 chapters up on amazon before the book was even completely finished. I would love to be able to meet her one day because her writing style is extremely interesting to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

