10 Questions With L. Bachman

Welcome Leighgendaries to the twenty fifth edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

10931188_907805119265788_3651203966222073727_n

L. Bachman

L. Bachman is a Texas native, currently living in North Alabama with her family. Writing since she was young, L. Bachman has not only written stories, but created digital art blends. Her love of creating has led to working with some of the best writers in the independent and self-publishing world. She’s served as mentor for the young and old in the writing field, helping others hone their craft and make it through writer’s block, but is ever the student herself. Bachman enjoys researching and furthering her own knowledge and book collection. Whether it’s a topic in religion or the paranormal, her knowledge is easily noticed in her tales and in information to others interested in learning.

It’s time for:

10 Questions With L. Bachman

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

I’ve been writing since I was a kid. Some of the characters in The Blasphemer Series were in the beginning state of development when I was just a pre-teen.

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

It’s hard to say which book could be considered my ‘first book’ they just were never published. My first published and properly processed work Maxwell Demon has roots in my interests of religion, supernatural, and myths.

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Anne Rice will always be my favorite of all time, but I have favorited several over time. Anne’s work really struck me as a kid. Her works are just so well put together it’s undeniable to me that she as special way about the work that she does. Having an interest in her work led me to finding others with the similar interest and that helped me a lot as a kid. I would’ve rather read a good book, hers, than go out and do what many others at my age was. Kept me out of trouble growing up for sure.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Oh that’s hard, there are so many really interesting writers throughout history. I’d probably want to sit down with someone that contributed to The Bible or something historical just to converse with them, get to know where their brains are or where on the item that made history. I’m sure that sounds so boring, but that would fascinate me to know end.

5.) What book are you reading now?

I just finished up reading The Encyclopedia of Angels. So informative!

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

I could go on and on with a list full of names of people that have caught my attention, but to name a few Lindy Spencer, Rissa Blakely, Samantha S LaFantasie, Rainy Kay, and Rebecca Hamilton. They’re all really good at what they do and have caught my attention for different reasons. Some because of their efforts in helping the community or because of their body of work. They’re all not really ‘new’ authors, but they are all newer to me than some others out there.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

While editing Maxwell Demon I had this moment where I wasn’t comfortable with everything left in it when my beta-readers were handed it. Something wasn’t sitting right, something I had regretfully removed, but thankfully after they handed back their feedback I placed the scene back in and made it all work before my editor got given it. It had really give me a lesson in doing everything I want inside of a story before handing it off. Fill it until I’m okay completely, if something doesn’t sit right later on it can be removed.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

As Maxwell’s foot lowered to the wood floor of his bedroom, he nudged a beer bottle underneath his bed. Moaning, his hand held his forehead, a splitting headache welcoming him. He glanced over his shoulder and groaned. Another night, another companion. Lying sprawled on his bed, a sheet clinging her naked frame was a blonde woman with smeared make-up. His objective was to get her out of his house without hurting her feelings. Even after all the time that had passed…from the beginning of time, really…he still couldn’t bring himself to hurt a Human’s feelings.

He moved into the bathroom. The reflection staring back at him from the bathroom mirror was gaunt and pale. Despite constantly being in the sun, his skin looked as if he’d never even seen a single ray of light. Tired grey eyes, high cheekbones, and slender features identified him as a creature touched by the hand of God. He wondered for a second if the woman he had spent the night with noticed the nubs of broken wings that moved with his shoulders. Every motion, from brushing his teeth to shaving his face, had those little nubs moving.

“What the hell are those?” the woman said, making him jump. She pointed to his back as she leaned against the door frame. She stood wide-eyed, wearing one of his business shirts.

He sighed. “They were once called wings. You see, when you’re cast out of Heaven, wings get scorched by Hellfire and turn to ash, never to heal.”

I put the entire first chapter of Maxwell Demon on Wattpad for readers to enjoy, this is just a portion of it. https://www.wattpad.com/story/44191099-maxwell-demon

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

This turned out to be a very hard question for me. I don’t think I’d get rid of a state, I know that for sure.

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

If that happened it most likely be my son playing pretend with a stuffed toy. I actually asked my son to help me with this one and he said in reply that the penguin would just say hello, how are you doing Flower. lol

*****

Maxwell Demon is L. Bachman’s first novel and you can get it on Amazon for your Kindle or Kindle App for $1.25 (as of this posting on 9/2/15).

If you would like to read the first chapter before you buy it you can do so here.

Enter into a world where magic exists among us, where Demons and Angels battle, where Vampires, Werewolves, and Witches have become allies, fighting alongside them. What side would you choose? Maxwell is a Fallen Angel on a mission to save the soul of Lilith, the first woman ever created. Lilith’s soul has been placed in a cycle of reincarnation until she realizes the depth of the crimes against humanity she committed while alive the first time. Saving her will save us all. Over and over, Maxwell has never been able to save her, always failing. This is her last incarnation, her last chance. It’s also his last chance to prove that all souls are redeemable. Twists, turns, and torment aren’t just for the wicked.

*****

L. Bachman currently has a giveaway going on right now.  You can win a free ebook copy of Maxwell Demon along with some autographed bookmarks.  All you need to do his visit her website.  Your odds of winning right now are very good so head on over and get registered for the giveaway.  While you are there, don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter.

You can also follow Bachman on Facebook and Twitter.

*****

I would like to thank L. Bachman for joining us for this episode of 10 Questions With…  I hope you enjoyed learning about this new author.

If you liked this interview you might also like
10 Questions With Will Swardstrom
10 Questions With Philip Harris
10 Questions With Ellisa Barr

4 thoughts on “10 Questions With L. Bachman

Leave a Comment

