10 Questions With Nerys Wheatley

Welcome Leighgendaries to the twenty seventh edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

10495032_832716350151958_4619421644382520974_o

Nerys Wheatley

Nerys Wheatley is the author of the Twenty-Five Percent zombie action horror series, and several short stories.

Born and raised in the county of Essex in the UK, she recently moved to Derbyshire and is slowly getting used to being called “Duck”. She writes fast-paced, action-packed horror and science fiction with a sense of humour.

Nerys Wheatley also told me:  “First, it’s pronounced exactly like Kira Nerys in Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. Sci-fi fans like me will know what I mean! I was born in the county of Essex in England, was a child in the decade of shoulder pads and big hair, and currently live near to the town of Worksop, which was the punchline for a joke on Doctor Who (the one with Robin Hood).”

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Nerys Wheatley

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

This is kind of random, but together with a friend I run the official Mr. Mister Facebook page on behalf of the band.

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

Quite by chance, I came across an article about ebooks being removed from retailers because of their subject matter. Yeti erotica was mentioned. How I came across this article I can’t remember, but I swear I wasn’t searching for yeti erotica! At the time, I was completely ignorant of the whole phenomenon of self-publishing. I didn’t even own an ebook reader. I know, sometimes it takes me a while to catch up. But after some research, I thought it was something I could try as I’ve always written short stories. So my first was a short novella, really an experiment in if I could do it. I don’t think I’ve even got into double figures for profit on that one, but I was well and truly bitten by the writing bug. Now, sixteen months and eight books later, I find I can’t stop!

3.) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I can’t say I really have a favourite author. Back when I was in my teens and a fantasy nut, it would have been Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman, but now I don’t have a specific favourite. I do read a lot, though. My Kindle is all but surgically attached to my hand.

4.) If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

I imagine Oscar Wilde would be entertaining.

5.) What book are you reading now?

Flypaper Cast by C K Vile, and really enjoying it. I love the Flypaper series.

6.) Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

Depends what you mean by new! But there are a few relatively recent authors that I like a lot. Jason Brant, C K Vile, Bobby Adair, Jan Holly, Brian Harmon, Nick Pirog, Robert Black.

7.) If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

I would rewrite the first three (including those, six of my books are romances published under a pen name). While I still think they’re good, I didn’t really hit my stride with writing, especially regarding plot, until my fourth book, so I could definitely do better with the first three now. But it’s unlikely I ever will rewrite them. I have far too many ideas for future books to revisit old ones.

8.) Can you share a little of your current work with us?

This is a short excerpt from chapter one of Downfall, book 2 of my Twenty-Five Percent series, which has just been published.

The blackness was complete. Alex kept hoping his eyes would adjust, that he’d be able to see something. Anything. But with no light whatsoever, he was as blind as any normal person.

“Maybe we can find something in one of the labs,” he whispered, “turn a Bunsen burner on or something.”

“Yeah, okay,” Micah said. “I think this torch is dead and gone.”

Alex reached out and encountered Micah’s arm. “Give me your hand.”

“You want to hold hands? Now who’s afraid of the dark?”

“I just want to make sure we stick together.”

“Fine, but if the lights go on now and everyone is watching us, you can do the explaining.”

He felt Micah’s hand grasp his. Embarrassingly, it did make him feel a little better.

“Smooth,” Alex said. “Do you moisturise?”

“Feel free to not talk.”

Alex tried to ignore his rising heart rate as he felt his way along the corridor with his free hand. They were fine. It was just darkness. He was a grown man with superhuman strength. He was not afraid of the dark. He wasn’t.

Reaching an open doorway, he walked blindly in, feeling his way along a workbench running along the wall. He stopped and let go of Micah’s hand.

It was then that Alex knew something was wrong.

“Are you breathing?” he whispered.

“What kind of question is that?” Micah whispered back. “Of course I’m breathing.”

“Stop.”

“Stop breathing?”

“Just hold your breath for a few seconds so I can listen.”

He heard Micah take a deep breath and hold it. He did the same.

A coarse breathing sound remained.

In.

Out.

In.

Out.

“Please tell me that’s you,” Micah hissed.

Alex swallowed. “It’s not me.”

Across the room, a piece of furniture scraped on the floor.

9.) If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why?

Since I’m British and live in the UK, I can’t answer that! But if I change it to which county would I get rid of, I’d have to say London. The reason being it’s an absolute pain to get past if you want to get to the other side! It would be much faster if it just wasn’t there. Anyone who has driven on the M25 will understand what I mean.

10.) A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here?

“This isn’t Cancún, is it?”

Go ahead, pimp whatever book you want:

The first two books in my zombie action thriller series “Twenty-Five Percent” are available now: Mutation and Downfall.

*****

I would like to thank Nerys Wheatley for joining us today.  I hope you enjoyed this interview as much as I did.

You can learn more about Wheatley and her books at her website and while you are there don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter.  You can also follow her on Facebook.

I hope that you will consider checking out Wheatley’s Twenty-Five Percent series.  You can get Mutation (Book 1) for only $.99:

Mutation

Sometimes, the best person to fight the monsters is someone who’s been one.

Bitten and infected, cured, feared and despised, life isn’t easy for Survivors of the disease that turns ordinary people into flesh hungry monsters. It’s even worse for Alex MacCallum when he has to deal with anti-Survivor activists like Micah Clarke.

The world has lived with Meir’s disease for thirteen years, but when a new strain starts turning the population into eaters faster than ever before and their city is overrun, Alex and Micah grudgingly join forces to stay alive.

Can the two enemies survive the hordes of eaters, as well as each other, long enough to discover a way to stop this new virus?

*A zombie horror action thriller*

Downfall

Who controls the horde?

A desperate plea for help takes Alex and Micah out into the eater-ravaged countryside, where hordes are everywhere and those not in hiding are dead.

Hounded by eaters and waylaid by the angry, the desperate, and the terrified, their difficult journey ultimately leads them into a confrontation with the man responsible for the outbreak.

A man who may hold the key to controlling the eater hordes.

*****

If you liked this interview you might also like
10 Questions With Ian Garner
10 Questions With L. Bachman
10 Questions With Will Swardstrom

4 thoughts on “10 Questions With Nerys Wheatley

Leave a Comment

