10 Questions With Jacqueline E. Garlick

Welcome Leighgendaries to the thirtieth edition of 10 Questions With…

Today, our guest is:

Jackie teeth whitened less wrinkles-2

Jacqueline E. Garlick

Jacqueline says:
I’m an author of Young Adult and Women’s Lit fiction, the mother of four mostly grown children (I have just one 14 year old left in the house) (started early, what can I say…) I’m happily married to a fantastic proofreader, who moonlights as a teacher (I used to be a teacher, too). I write every day for at least 8 hours like I’ve gone to an office job, only difference is, I write with an overweight sheltie sitting on my feet. Sometimes my feet go numb and I have to kick the sheltie off and walk around the house to wake them up, but alas, he never gets the hint. My writing tends to be a little dark and edgy, but readers tell me my characters are warm and loveable. (Thus, friends in the industry have dubbed me the Quentin Tarantino of YA.) My women’s fiction tends to be more on the serious or comedic side, so I guess I’m just one of those writers who’s all over the map. I just LOVE to write! 

It’s time for:

10 Questions With Jacqueline E. Garlick

1.) What is something that many people might not know about you?

I love horses. I used to own two. An Appaloosa mare with a nasty temper named Belle, (which I finally sold off, after she nearly kicked me in the head), and an Egyptian Arabian that I ADORED, named Gus (after the mouse in Cinderella) that I had to sell them when my second child was born. It was one of the saddest days of my life. Bothers me still. (sniff, sniff…)

2.) What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve written three other books prior to writing Lumière, so I’ll just talk about Lumière, book one of The Illumination Paradox Series. I was inspired to write Lumière after a friend landed a contract with an editor I love, and was talking about the genre at a writer’s night out. I was really intrigued as I LOVE all things Victorian, always have, am fascinated by the era, and was intrigued by the idea of getting to concoct cool gadgets. My father was a tool and die maker by trade. He owned a large tool and die shop where I hung out a lot as a child. He also loved to invent things on his Saturday’s off, so as a result, I spent a lot of my childhood in the shop with him honing steel for one project or another. I guess that all stuck with me because when this opportunity afforded itself I was like, I can write that, I understand machinery, cranks and gears. It’ll be fun, just like hanging out with Dad again. I’d lost my father (my best friend) a couple years prior and still miss him daily, so in a way, I was also filling that void, I guess.

3.)  Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have a few, so I’ll just talk about a couple here. I LOVE Lani Taylor’s work, just love the flow of her words and her turn of phrase. It’s like music to the ears. I love that kind of writing. Her love stories are powerful and her actions scenes, breathtaking. She’s is a major talent, in my opinion. It oozes out on every page. I’m very very into Jandy Nelson’s work too, at the moment. I think she is the most authentic YA voice in this biz right now, not to mention a fabulous wordsmith. I literally adore her writing, ADORE IT! I sit and re-read passages just to hear the rhythms. I feel like those writers get a lot of (well deserved) airtime though, so I’m also going to plug Jodi Meadows here. She too is a powerfully lyrical writer and wordsmith, who weaves a solid and highy intriguing tale. I love her work as well. In the adult market, I have two major faves. Lori Lansens—an old school chum of mine, from my hometown (YAY!)— and a MAGNIFICANT writer. Seeing her work on the spine of a book in the bookstore of our hometown inspired me to write, as she had made the dream of becoming published a reality! Anything by Lori is a HIT! The last one is Sara Gruen, who wrote Water for Elephants, and At the Water’s Edge. If you haven’t read those, jump on them! LOVE those books so much!

4.)  If you could have dinner with any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Wow, I’d have to say Neil Gaiman, because to me, he is the epitome of the successful author, in that he gets the business, and he doesn’t let the business get to him. He sees it for what it is and keeps himself, and his creative energy, alive outside of that. And he uses that philosophy to encourage other creative souls—writers and otherwise—to handle the creative world in the same way. I respect and admire him in many ways, not just as a writer, and I’d love to have dinner with him one night just to throw those kinds of ideas around, and come home enlightened.

5.)  What book are you reading now?

I tend to read more than one book at a time. (I know, strange…) Currently, I’m reading A Train In Winter, by Caroline Moorhead, about a group of French resistance woman who were rounded up in 1943 and taken to Auschwitz, the death camp, for their participation in trying to overthrow the Nazis’. It’s an amazing story of bravery and friendship. It’s based on a true story. Six of the women were still alive in 2010. I’m also reading, Me Before You, by Jo Jo Moyes, a love story…which has a very cool premise. I’m not that far along in this one, but I can say this, I’m already cheering for the heroine!

6.)  Are there any new authors that have captured your interest?

YES! Alys Arden, a fellow Skyscape author whose book The Casquette Girls is releasing this fall. She a strong writer with a unique voice, and the book is a trip! I received an advanced copy, cracked it open and I’m LOVING IT! If you’re a supernatural enthusiast (vampires anyone?) you’re going to love this adventure set in and around New Orleans, in the aftermath of hurricane Katrina.

7.)  If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in any of your books?

Sure, I think most authors would tell you they could re-write their work until the cows came home. Knowing when to stop revising is the hardest part of writing. I think if I had another stab at things, I’d change the opening of my IF ONLY series, so that I could pin the accident on a different person, just for fun, and to make it even more of a twisty-turny read. I’m currently finishing up the 5th and final book in that serial, and I’m like hmmmmm, if only I’d said that back then… I could make this person the culprit now! Did I just say, IF ONLY…?

8.)  Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

Currently, I’m working on three things at once (I know…insane!). I’m revising a book I wrote a few years back, that I’ve always LOVED, called Sketchy Confessions of a Raging Bitch Queen, a YA crossover read about a strained relationship between a teen and her mother, which I’m planning to post for FREE on Wattpad for readers to discover this fall! As well I’m working on the third and final book of The Illumination Paradox Series, Soleil. (YES, it is coming!) I’m also working on the final revision of a (youthful) women’s fic, a love story I’m really excited about called The Heart Mender’s Society. It features twenty-three year old, highly-creative, scatter-brained—spent all her trust fund monies, and is thus, forced to give up her dream of becoming a famous romance writer—Maizie Mosely, who faces with the ominous task of leading a self-help group at The Heart Mender’s Society, after taking a part-time job to survive. Her mission: To counsel the lives of six young widowers (all under the age of 30) to help them emotionally and socially find the joy in living again. Problem: Maizie’s somehow supposed to know how to help these men get their lives back on track, when her own life is a total train wreck.

I’m currently working hard on the revisions, and hope to have this title up for sale before Christmas. Fingers crossed!

9.)  If you were to get rid of one state in the US, which would it be and why? 

Omigodness, what a question! Okay, well, first off, I’m Canadian, so yeah…there’s that. But if pressed I would have to say, that I wouldn’t want to get rid of any one state, but I’d love to soften some of the ideology of some of the people’s comments coming across my facebook feed daily. I think we can all be more loving, tolerant and inclusionary in this world, and I’d love to see that happen. I’d also love to see assault rifles taken off the streets, everywhere.

10.)  A penguin walks through that door right now wearing a sombrero. What does he say and why is he here? 

“Hey, baby what’s shaking?” Wiggles tail, leers at me provocatively, winks. I look back at him stunned; clutch the opening of my V-neck T-shirt tightly together. “Whoops.” He looks around, fluffy white cheeks flushing. “I was told there was a party going on here. Isn’t this the Berg—the Siberian Nightclub? Or is this just another Canadian Summer?”

Go ahead, pimp whatever book you want:

Jacqueline Garlick is the author of the award winning Illumination Paradox Series. Books one and two, Lumière & Noir were discovered by an editor online at Skyscape and purchased. Both books are currently available from Skyscape (Amazon Publishing) in e-book form, with paper copies to follow by mid-September. Jacqueline is also the author of a highly acclaimed, five-book, teen romance/mystery serial entitled IF ONLY Book five is due out the end of September.

*****

GIVEAWAY:  Jacqueline E. Garlick is going to giveaway a signed copy of Lumière.  All you need to do is answer the following question in the comment section.
Name your favorite fantasy read of 2015?
This giveaway will be open until Friday, September 18, 2015 at 8:00 am (est).  Due to shipping, this giveaway is only open to those in the United States or Canada.

*****

I would like to thank Jacqueline E. Garlick for joining us for this edition of 10 Questions With…

I hope you enjoyed getting to know her as much as I did.

Jacqueline invites readers to keep up with her by signing up for her NEWSLETTER, at www.jacquelinegarlick.com Subscribers are the first to know about Jacqueline’s upcoming projects, enjoy pre-read samples of new works, and participate in fun reader centered contests and activities, such as the one she is currently offering. Fans of Jacqueline’s steampunk fantasy series, The Illumination Paradox, are being given the chance to submit what they would like to see happen (for consideration by the author) in the final book of The Illumination Paradox Series, Soleil!

Jacqueline loves to hear from readers.  She is also open to interviews, podcasts, and YouTube appearances, and Skype calls with book enthusiasts, and book clubs. Contact Jacqueline at garlickbooks@gmail.com

*****

I hope that you will check out book one and two in The Illumination Paradox, Lumière & Noir.  These two books are high on my to read list and I cannot wait to read them.  You can find them on Amazon.

Even in a land of eternal twilight, secrets can’t stay in the dark forever.

Seventeen-year-old Eyelet Elsworth has only one hope left: finding her late father’s most prized invention, the Illuminator. It’s been missing since the day of the mysterious flash—a day that saw the sun wiped out forever over England.

But living in darkness is nothing new to Eyelet. She’s hidden her secret affliction all of her life—a life that would be in danger if superstitious townspeople ever guessed the truth. And after her mother is accused and executed for a crime that she didn’t commit, the now-orphaned Eyelet has no choice but to track down the machine that was created with the sole purpose of being her cure.

Alone and on the run, she finally discovers the Illuminator—only to see a young man hauling it off. Determined to follow the thief and recover the machine, she ventures into the deepest, darkest, most dangerous part of her twisted world.

Losing him would make her overcast world one shade darker…

Navigating her way through nightmarish lands devoid of sunlight, Eyelet Elsworth races to free her beloved Urlick Babbit, the first person to understand and accept her—differences and all. Framed for murder and sentenced to execution, Urlick is running out of time. And the Commonwealth’s tyrannical new ruler, Penelope Rapture, is strangely eager to speed up the clock.

Aided by a band of unusual yet loyal associates, Eyelet stumbles upon a startling rumor. And as she unravels a secret that could challenge Penelope’s claim to the throne, Penelope vows to divert Eyelet’s journey—straight to a dark and deadly end.

In Noir, the second thrilling addition to Jacqueline E. Garlick’s Illumination Paradox series, familiar friends struggle against new and old enemies, shocking secrets come to light, and the truth that could save this captivating steampunk world is revealed…if it doesn’t destroy everything first.

If you enjoyed this interview you might also enjoy:
10 Questions With Jason Gurley
10 Questions With K.R. Thompson
10 Questions With Nerys Wheatley

11 thoughts on “10 Questions With Jacqueline E. Garlick

  1. “Eleanor” by Jason Gurley! My friend had been after me for awhile to read this book but I resisted. I just don’t go for the genre…mostly because I can’t keep all the strange names of people and places straight. But “Eleanor” was opened could not be put down. And now I am looking for more like her!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jacqueline, you are a hoot 🙂 Great interview, thanks for sharing. I loved your improv with the sombrero-wearing penguin… Canadian summer indeed, haha! My favourite 2015 fantasy would have to be Lumiere, and I can’t wait to get my hands on Noir!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

